Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Monthly America's Cup Fact

October 2009
Test your knowledge of the "Auld Mug."

Photo credit

How many different countries have won the America's Cup?
Answer Below.

The schooner, America, first boat to win the America's Cup

Photo by

How many different countries have won the America's Cup? Four countries: the United States, Australia, New Zealand, and Switzerland.

From the first race in 1851 until 1983 the United States held the America's Cup, making the longest winning streak in sports history. The race was named after the first boat to win the "Cup," the schooner, America. In 1983 the Australian's won the America's Cup but it was subsequently won back by the Americans. In 1995, New Zealand won the America's Cup and became the first country beside the United States to successfully defend the Cup in 2000. However, in 2003 New Zealand lost the America's Cup to the Swiss team, Alinghi. Alinghi won the America's Cup again in 2007 and will attempt to defend the Cup again in 2010.
12 Meter Charters invites you to experience our America's Cup 12 meter racers. Call 401-851-1216 for more information. We love answering questions!

No comments:

Post a Comment